Fashion Trend: The “Snood”

(photo source: kuati.com)

No, I’m not talking about hairnets, or chopping the top off of your winter coat and just wearing that. This appears to be a new trend. Throw out your scarves and jackets ladies and gents; now you can kill two birds with one stone. To be honest some part of me has always coveted the modern Muslim headscarf, but aside from the Prada candy-coloured versions from a few seasons back, I haven’t found anything that really fits the look I’m after. Having discovered the snood (or should I just call it a hood?), I wonder – is this a politically-correct alternative that I could work into my wardrobe? Winter is about to begin, and this certainly looks cosy.


The stylish Charlene O’Rourke of Strutt wearing an H&M Snood.

Whether your budget is large or small, there’s a snood for you. Burberry‘s Cable Knit Snood retails for £175.00 ($290US), while the Deena & Ozzy Fur Hood sells for $48US at UrbanOutfitters.com. I remember finding a designer about a year ago who was selling something like this. Her specialty was gigantic knitted scarves, but I can’t remember her name for the life of me. If you’re thinking about buying a snood, sticking to a dark colour might be best. I’d also suggest keeping your outfit fairly simplistic, or at least monotone. This is probably not something to be worn with jeans, unless they’re a dark wash and perhaps tucked into some boots. In fact, I’d love to see this trend paired up with some killer lace-up booties.

What do you think?


スヌードは冬の新しいトレンドだと思う。これからスカーフとジャケットがいらないよ!スヌードだけいるですよね。私はイスラム人のスカーフがいつも好きでしたが、どうやってこのスタイルをできますか?PRADAのキャンデイー色バージョンはかわいいだけどパーフェクトではない。たぶんこの「スヌード」か「フード」は大丈夫ですね。冬が始まっているしこのスヌードはも暖かそう。

お金持ち?お金持っていない?BURBERRYの「Cable Knit Snood」は¥26400ぐらい、でもURBAN OUTFITTERSの「Deena & Ozzy Fur Hood」は¥4400だけ!暗いスヌードは一番だと思います。シンプルな服もいい。ジーンズはブーツの中に入っている、おねがいします!私はスヌードとハイヒールブーツ一緒に見たい。

どう思いますか?

dolly

7 Comments

Filed under Trends

7 responses to “Fashion Trend: The “Snood”

  1. Maryna!
    So glad to hear from you. Love the blog, I just added you to our links too. Can’t wait to hear all about your creative adventures, send me a message anytime.
    E

    oooh when is the Blanche show?

  2. That sounds great. Keep me posted if you have a spare ticket I would love to check it out!

  3. miggyfrompout

    I have always been a lover of the snood. I remember them being a hit at some point in the 90s – I used to steal my big sister’s sometimes.

    Think I’ll have a look for a new one today – you’ve inspired me!

    Miggy.x
    http://www.miggylikestheinternet.com

  4. ブログのコメント ありがとう!

    スヌード この冬 コーディネートにチャレンジしたいと思いました。

    また遊びに来ますね^^

  5. Not bad! Not bad at all! The snood being so dramatic and theatrical, it could pair with almost anything bland. The one from Urban Outfitters is a killer! Indeed they’re another blast from the past, and still, I’d love to rock the snood once more, if not for the trendiness of it, then for the absolute comfiness! (I remember I used to put them on as tube-tops or mini dresses too! they’re so versatile!)

  6. ブログへコメントありがとうございます!!

    スタイリッシュでステキなブログですね❤
    ランキング応援していきます☆彡
    またどうぞヨロシクね

  7. foolfashion

    Like this.

Leave a Reply

